Social Media Release

Social Media Release: Avett Brother’s New Album “True Sadness” to be released June 24, 2016



The Avett Brothers will release their ninth studio album on June 24, 2016 titled “True Sadness”. Their newest single from the album “Ain’t No Man” was released on April 14, 2016. “True Sadness” is currently available for preorder.



Brothers Scott and Seth Avett began making music together as children and have fortunately allowed the rest of the world hear to hear the folky, bluegrass and high-energy music they have continued to make. The brothers began playing around their hometown of Mount Pleasant, North Carolina in a band, “Nemo” since the early 90s. After Nemo split the brothers continued to play and write music. In 2000 Joe Kwan began playing with the brothers and in 2002 Bob Crawford (double bass) joined the band. Mike Marsh (drums), Tania Elizabeth (violin), Paul Defliglia (keyboard) are also touring members with the band. The music of the Avett Brothers has fallen into the genres of folk, folk rock, indie rock, bluegrass and Americana. They have released eight studio albums, four live albums and four EPs.



Songs on the album:

  1. Ain’t No Man (first single)
  2. Mama I Don’t Believe
  3. No Hard Feelings
  4. Smithsonian
  5. You Are Mine
  6. Satan Pulls the Strings
  7. True Sadness
  8. I Wish I Was
  9. Fisher Road to Hollywood
  10. Victims of Life
  11. Divorce Separation Blues
  12. May It Last


For the most part, the writing happens at home. We started in January with full-on studio time to develop. We’re sitting on about 30 songs to start recording with Rick Rubin again. ”—Seth Avett May 29, 2014


A lot of [2015] will be keeping an eye on the calendar and trying to carve out room to work on the new Avett Brothers record, which we’re over half-way through already. We started on it in California a couple of months ago. We are heavily into the process of making a new record so that’s very much on the forefront of my mind. I’m excited to get back out on the road. There’s going to be a lot of great shows coming up but I can’t help but wake up thinking about the next Avett record and digging back into it, getting in the studio any time we can to take this thing to the next level.”— Seth Avett February 2, 2014


True Sadness is a patchwork quilt, both thematically and stylistically. Wherein a myriad of contrasting fabrics make perfect sense on the same plane, this album draws upon countless resources from its writers and performers. To further propel the expansive color and textural fields of the record, we are blessed to play and perform music with a group of musicians who possess not only great talent, but great interpretive ability. They are an extension of our family and their care for the work at hand (and the project at large) informs a dynamic musical contribution to any piece we proudly give our last name. Sonically, the album is as multidimensional as its makers. The same could be said of its long list of influences. So the quilt is sewn, in part, with the brightly colored threads of Queen, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Jimmie Rodgers, Tom Petty, Nine Inch Nails, Gillian Welch, Aretha Franklin, Walt Disney, Pink Floyd, Kings of Convenience, calypso of the 1950s and country of the 1930s. Rock and roll is here, as always. There are moments of undeniable celebration and camaraderie, others of quiet and lonely exhalation. Throughout the album, we stitched together the boldest red and the calmest green, polka dots and stripes, the roughest denim and the smoothest velveteen. They came together because they are the best patterns we have and because each of us brought our own fabric to the quilting frame.

We made this record as people who have made records together before — with experienced hands, appreciative hearts, renewed focus, and the knowledge of our good fortune to make music once again.

On June 24th, we will share with the world this work, these songs, and a contemporary chapter of our lives.”-Seth Avett



Video of “Ain’t No Man”



Manager: Dolphus, Ramseur Records,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *